Ex 5: Experiment with Mixed Media

First of all I prepared supports using a variety of mediums, clear gesso, PVA glue and Liquitex flexible modelling paste.

First I covered cartridge paper with clear gesso and when it was dry used PVA (1) and Liquitex flexible modelling paste (2) to create an outliner barrier. Then I:

  1. Dribbled PVA onto the paper to form lines
  2. Used the edge of a credit card dipped in PVA and stamped to create lines
  3. Tinted the PVA with Indian ink, for a contrast, and made lines with the edge of a credit card.
  4. Used paste and tinted paste to create a raised outline barrier

Next I tested different papers on both sides of the paper, once the PVA and paste were dry, I used a variety of different media to see how it reacted with the paper, gesso’ed paper, PVA and paste and what effects I could get.

I used: Willow charcoal, 9B graphite stick, Soft pastel, Derwent Art bar, Inktense blocks and Oil pastel.

I also tried different ways of blending: finger, baby wipes and chamois.

Test 1

Cartridge paper and gesso with charcoal, 9B graphite stick, Derwent Art bars, oil pastel and soft pastel.

1 CP gesso pva 1a cp gesso pva

2cp gesso paste 2acp gesso paste

Test 2 Right side of Daler Rowney mixed media paper with PVA and Liquitex paste.

3 R DR PVA 3a R DR PVA

4 R DR Paste4a R DR Paste

Test 3 Wrong side of Daler Rowney mixed media with PVA and Liquitex paste.

5 W R DR Pva 5a W R DR Pva

6 R DR Paste 6a R DR Paste

Test 4 Right side of Aquarelle Hot Pressed with PVA and Liquitex paste.

7 R A PVA 7a R A PVA

8 R A Paste 8a R A Paste

Test 5 Wrong side of Aquarelle Hot Pressed with PVA and Liquitex paste.

9 W A Pva 9a W A Pva

10 W A Paste 10a W A Paste

Conclusions

  1. The papers all seemed to react the same, and I liked the effect of the soft pastel on gesso, so it didn’t matter which paper I would decide to use.
  2. All the blending was down with my finder on the gesso as the surface was too rough for the baby wipes and chamois
  3. The PVA was easy to blend over and the colour slight tinted the PVA which could be removed with an eraser.
  4. The black tinted PVA worked just as well as the clear. This would be a design decision when thinking about the final drawing.
  5. The Liquitex paste was really nice. It gave me the raised effect that I wanted, but I found it too rough to work with and would probably be better worked into with a brush, which I didn’t want to use.
  6. My favourites are the gesso’ed paper, the soft pastel and charcoal blended with my finger. The soft pastel gave a really deep black and the charcoal gave a softer black. The PVA worked the best for blending over and could be erased to remove staining to bring out the background lines.

Next I prepared two supports:

  1. I glued some packing paper onto a sheet of mixed media. I crumpled up some more packaging paper and glued it over top to give a textured surface.  When it was dry, I painted a layer of gesso over.
  2. I painted a layer of gesso over a piece of thick cardboard.

11  12

13

Cardboard

Using one of my previous sketches, I drew an outline with the Pentel Sign pen.

I used soft pastels to block in and blended with my finger.  When I blended the pastels, I lost quite a few of the under drawing lines, so I went over them with the Pentel sign pen to pick them out again.  I particularly like the radiator.  I bounced the pen over the cardboard to draw a soft line which give a bit of tone to the radiator as well as the colour.

14  15

Next I prepared two supports:

  1. I glued some packing paper onto a sheet of mixed media. I scrumpled up some more packaging paper and glued it over top to give a textured surface.  When it was dry, I painted a layer of gesso over.
  2. I painted a layer of gesso over a piece of thick cardboard.

Crinkled paper 1

I used Derwent XL charcoal which is a lovely soft crumbly charcoal.  It was good for covering large areas and I was able to blend it easily with my fingers.  When I had completed blending, I lightly dragged the side of the charcoal over the surface and the raised ridges of the crinkled paper which picked up the charcoal.

16

Crinkled paper 2

This is a larger piece of paper so I did a larger drawing.  I did this without looking at my sketches (and realised that I should have looked at the sketches because it’s not right!).  I used oil pastels and white charcoal.  First I drew in the sketch with a 2B graphite stick.  I then worked into the crinkled paper with oil pastels.  i overdrew with a 9B graphite stick to define lines that had been lost under the oil pastel.  to finish off the drawing I ran the charcoal over the paper, with a bit more pressure than the previous drawing to get a bit more of the pigment onto the paper.

17

I did think when I started these experiments that my final drawing would be on the crinkled paper, but I don’t actually like the  effect that I’ve created, but I do like working with gesso and charcoal, so that’s what I think I will take forward.

I don’t really like the drawing on the cardboard or the larger crinkled paper, but I do quiet like the smaller crinkled paper as the charcoal has a soft look about it and I like the areas where the paper has picked up the charcoal when I dragged it over the paper.

Leave a Reply

