Ex: 4 Line & Wash

I decided to use A3 Mixed media paper for all these drawings and a Graphik 0.3 line maker pen.

I started, as the course notes suggested doing a continuous line drawing, but looking at the paper.  This was great fun to do as it gave a huge sense of freedom.  I didn’t bother with measuring or accuracy just kept looking at proportions and mentally worked it out where the pen should go.  I did two drawings which I then used with Indian ink to wash over.   I’ve haven’t really experimented with line and wash so this technique was relatively new to me.  I looked at various ‘How to’ videos and they all seem to be watercolour paintings rather than tonal studies, which is not what this exercise is about.  The video’s show a detailed, although loose and expressive under drawing in ink before watercolour is washed over.  The instructions in this exercise say not to do a detailed drawing and use wash to define tone so I’m confused about what to do, so experimentation is the way to go.

Drawing 1  – My first attempt is an experiment in how to use (or not in this case) Indian inks.  I’ve thrown kitchen sink at it just to play to see how to manipulate the ink, what dilution ratio use, etc.  The drawing is a mess, I haven’t really picked out any tonal areas as I got confused with the range of colours I used.  I especially like the effect of the blue ink on the little table, bottom right.

Drawing 1

Drawing 1

Drawing 2 – Because I liked the effect of the blue ink on the table, I decided to use this as a bit of inspiration.  I used blue ink to pick out the shadow areas.  Once the initial wash was dry, I over washed it to deepen some of the shadows.  I really like this drawing, it’s very loose and expressive. The under drawing is completely bonkers, but it was a very quick drawing.  The only thing I don’t like is the way I’ve applied the wash to the min shadow behind the door.  I think I should have used a larger brush which would have given a more even coverage.

Drawing 2

Drawing 2

For the next set of drawings, I decided to change the light source.  I flicked on a lamp from the left, opened the rear door slightly and switched off the hall light.  This created a lovely cast shadow pattern from the bags onto the back wall and door.  I think this detail has been lacking in previous compositions, so I decided to keep it.  Now I am beginning to feel comfortable with the composition and have started to think about the final drawing.

Drawing 3 – I drew a very quick loose under drawing using the Graphik 0.3 line maker.  This time I used water colour paints making different grey tones from Ultramarine and burnt umber.  Again, I should have used different brush sizes or just a large brush to lay the wash.  I looked at the main tonal areas and blocked them in.

Drawing 3

Drawing 3

Drawing 4  – Another quick drawing with Graphik 0.3 line maker pen.  I experimented with colour this time and kept the grey tones for the shadowy areas.  I quite liked this in that there was a pop of colour in a grey tonal drawing.

Drawing 4

Drawing 4

Drawing 5 – Using the Graphik 0.3 line maker I found that the lines were too thin (the pen was running out of ink) so I over drew with a Pentel Sign pen which isn’t waterproof.  As I applied the wash, the water started to diffuse the lines which gave a nice effect.  Once the drawing was dry, I worked back into the lines with pen.  I used colour on the bright areas, again thinking ahead to final drawing in that if may be OK to do a grey tonal drawing with bright areas.

Drawing 5

Drawing 5

Drawing 6 – I decided use try another medium for the line and wash.  Here I’ve use the Graphik pen along with the Pentel Sign pen which gave thicker lines.  I used XL graphite as the ‘wash’ blending it out with my finger and leaving areas where the grain of paper shows through.

Drawing 6

Drawing 6

Drawing 7 – I zoomed in on the bag area to look at how the bright bags would look against a darker background.  I used a very loose wash.  I really like this drawing as I think it looks effortless.  I really stopped myself from overworking it, making myself be satisfied with one stroke of the brush.  I think it is successful and one of my favourites.

Drawing 7

Drawing 7

After looking at this set of drawings, I like the blue tonal line and wash and the zoomed in drawing with a pop of colour.  I think these are the drawings I’m going to develop, including the radiator, pictures and the wall and less of the left hand door frame.  I did think that I wanted to make the edge of the door the star of the show, but it doesn’t seem to be happening.

Leave a Reply

